Google+ Hangout Wedding Renewal Ceremony

Take one part Google+, one part Groupon, plus two parts Gephart, throw them into a Google+ hangout, and watch Rev. D, Groupon Affiliate Specialist, perform a renewal vow ceremony this Friday, Mar 30th, 5PM EDT (4PM CDT/3PM MDT/2PM PDT).

Albuquerque The Magazine Engagement StoryGroupon sent out this email this past week: “Wedding season is right around the corner, and as a special service to all of our wonderful affiliates, we are offering FREE wedding renewals via phone, Skype or Google Hangout with our resident Reverend, Derek Felix. (You may also know Derek as one of our affiliate specialists. He can both marry you, and help you with your sites. He’s the ultimate two-fer.)

Karl and I met online over eighteen years ago on a BBS (Bulletin Board System). He proposed to me over the phone before meeting me in person and mailed me an inexpensive ring as a token gesture of engagement. You can read more details in the Albuquerque The Magazine story.

Our 18th Wedding Anniversary is April 1st. Yes, we got married on April Fools’ Day with an elopement to Las Vegas!

So, how could I turn down an opportunity to renew our vows so close to our wedding anniversary using the more modern technology that brought us together?

We are opening up a couple of slots in a Google+ Hangout if anyone from the media would like to attend. Please hit me up on Google+ or twitter.

For those of you who aren’t able to attend, we will have a recording up within a few days!

Thank you Groupon, for allowing us a quirky anniversary celebration that relates so well to our original courtship and marriage ceremony!

Ashley Drake Gephart

Ashley has been involved with computers and technology since preschool, playing with punch cards her father brought home. In the early 90′s, she had her own BBS. Ashley and her husband take an unconventional approach to life and unschool their youngest daughter, conduct business meetings at 2am, and work pantsless as much as they can.

More Posts - Website

Follow Me:
TwitterFacebookLinkedInPinterestGoogle PlusFlickrStumbleUponYouTube

Comments

comments

Comments

  1. Wouldn’t miss it. Now I have to find something appropriate to wear…..

  2. Just worry about the part that shows on camera! I have you in the circle ready to add you to the hangout tomorrow!